China Town on the island stretches from Weld Quay to Lebuh Stewart, Lebuh Muntri, Lebuh Campbell and Lebuh King. China Town is so large and well-preserved that you will sense and feel the lifestyle of Chinese immigrant settlers who came here in the 1800s. Visitors will be intrigued by many clanhouses, shophouses and temples found along these streets, which reflect the heritage left behind.
Influenced by Indian Islamic architecture, this mosque was built around 1800 and boasts a dome-shaped and well placed minaret. It was constructed by an Indian Muslim merchant, Cauder Mohudeen, who was the 'Kling Kapitan' (Indian Muslim headman) at that time.
Also known as 'Masjid Melayu', this mosque was built in accordance with the wishes of it's founder, Syed Sheriff Tengku Syed Hussain Aidid. The 1820 mosque features a small window halfway up the minerat which many believe was originally a hole made by a cannonball fired during 1867 triad riots.
Popularly known as the Temple of the Goddess of Mercy, this is the oldest temple in Penang. Built in 1800 by the first Hokkien and Cantonese settlers, Kuan Yin temple reflects the splendour of an ancient Chinese architecture, decorated with intricately crafted dragons and stone sculptured dragons which are said to be guardians of it.
Built in 1883, this is the oldest Hindu temple in Penang which features fascinating sculptures of gods and goddesses over it's main entrance and facade. Housed within it's ornately decorated interior is the priceless statue of Lord Subramaniam embellished with gold, silver, diamonds and emeralds. The statue figures prominently in the annual Thaipusam festival when it is borne on a silver chariot though the city streets to the temple.
'Kongsi' or clan-house, are actually associations based on kinsmanhip and geographical ties. These 'Kongsis' started centuries ago in China, have now become popular meeting places for the Chinese on the island who treat them like second homes. The forefathers of the Khoo family who emigrated from South China built this clan-house for members of the Khoo family in 1843. By far, this 'Kongsi' is the most magnificant in Malaysia, with intricate carvings and richly ornamented beams of the finest wood bearing the mark of master craftsmen from China.
ST. GEORGE'S CHURCH
Built by convict labour in 1818, this is the oldest Anglican church in South-East Asia. This landmark is named after the patron saint of England and features a memorial canopy dedicated to Captain Francis Light.
Located on the Esplanade, this 200 year-old fort marks the spot where Captain Francis Light, the founder of Penang, first landed in 1786. Originally just a rickety wooden structure, Fort Cornwallis was reconstructed by convict labour between 1804-1805. Protruding from the moss-covered rampants are cannons, retrieved by the British from pirates who in turn had captured them from the Johor Sultanate, then under the Dutch protection.
The Kompleks Tun Abdul Razak (KOMTAR), located in the heart of Georgetown is Penang's most ambitious building complex, boasts a 65 storey tower which houses a labyrinth of Government departments, commercial offices, department stores, shops and restaurants.
This 60 foot (18.5 m) high clock tower was built in 1897 to celebrate Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee - with one foot to commemorate each year. It was presented to the town by millionaire Cheah Chen Eok.